News & Updates

05 Dec 2017


CHUUK LAGOON 3rd - 17th August 2018

The Deptherapy Board has agreed on the team for the Expedition (see table below).

This decision has been made on the basis of diving ability and commitment to personal development.

Membership of the team will still depend upon evidence of possession of all diving equipment required, evidence of diving outside of the Deptherapy framework and passing an enhanced 'fitness to dive' medical. (There is no appeal against the medical decision).

For those who have not made the cut, it was a competitive process. The management instructional team has been substantially reduced to allow more 'troops' to benefit from the programme.

All those selected have proved themselves to be accomplished divers and there will be no instruction on the programme and levels of supervision can be kept to a minimum.

Deptherapy Education


Management (7)

Richard Cullen (MI) Expedition Director
Martin Weddell (MI) Deputy Programme Director
Andy Alfred (MI)
Sharon El Shoura (IDCS)
Simon Reed (DM) Programme Member Liaison (Royal Marines)
Dmitry Knyazev (IDCS) Photographer
Stuart Green (AI) Photographer

Medical Team (2)

Oliver Firth Doctor (London Diving Chamber)
Howard Payne Paramedic

Programme Members (13)

Andrew Searle Rifles
Ben Lee (TDM) Royal Engineers
Chris Ganley Rifles
Chris Middleton (DM) Royal Scots Dragoon Guards
Dan Phillips Mercian Regiment
David Hubber Royal Logistic Corps
Gary Green (TDM) Rifles
Jason Court Arg Royal Navy
Jonathan Beever Royal Engineers
Josh Boggi Royal Engineers
Luke Morrison Parachute Regiment
Pete Hayward Princess of Wales' Royal Regiment
Steve Atkin Mercian Regiment